512-423-6566

Top

Sweet Plantains Paleo Style

Gluten-Free  Soy-Free   Dairy-Free   Paleo Friendly Unlike their sweet cousin (banana), plantains must be cooked prior to be eaten. They share some of the flavor profile of sweet bananas, but without the sugar content. What is known in the states as plantains, in Brazil it is known as the banana-da-terra. Serve as a sweet accompaniment alongside the Brazilian burgers. Serves: 4 Ingredients: 2 to 3 ripe plantains 5 tablespoons ghee 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1 teaspoon natural vanilla extract 2 tablespoons coconut sugar To peel the plantains, cut off ends and discard. With a paring knife, make 2 shallow slits lengthwise along the seams of the skin and peel away. Split the plantains lengthwise. Heat 4 tablespoons ghee in a large skillet and place over medium low heat. Note that plantains have a high sugar content...

What’s The Difference between an Allergy to Wheat or Gluten, Celiac Disease, and Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance?

When it comes to the following terms: gluten or wheat allergy, gluten intolerance, celiac disease, and gluten sensitivity, it turns out that all of these terms are used interchangeably to refer to some sort of a gluten issue. However, according to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, the term, “gluten intolerance” is used when referring to the entire category of gluten issues including: celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy. But, truly, what is the difference?  As this may be  a confusing topic, so let’s demystify it further. A group of 15 renowned celiac disease researchers published a report that included guidance on classifying gluten-related disorders. The report breaks the spectrum down into three main categories: Allergic Reaction- This type of allergy is often called a...

Share